Established in 1969 and believed to be the first of its kind in Canada, the Edgar and Dorothy Davidson Chair of Canadian Studies has been generously endowed and is named in honour of Dr. Edgar Davidson and Dr. Dorothy Davidson of Ottawa.

The following scholars have held the chair since its establishment:

1969-1975             George F.G. Stanley, C.C., C.D., D.Phil., D.Litt., F.R.S.C.
1975-1987             Douglas Grant Lochhead, B.A., M.A., B.L.S., D.Litt, LL.D., F.R.S.C.
1987-1992             Lawrence D. McCann, B.A., M.A., Ph.D.
2001-2005             William Cross, B.A., M.P.S., J.D., M.A., Ph.D.
2005-2010             Frank Strain, B.A., M.A., Ph.D.
2010-2020             Christl Verduyn, B.A., M.A., Ph.D,. F.R.S.C.