Ebbutt Trust Scholarships

Typically, a number of scholarships are offered each year under the terms of the Ebbutt Memorial Trust which was established by the late Dr. Arthur J. Ebbutt in memory of his wife, Helen MacNaughton Ebbutt. Dr. Ebbutt taught at Mount Allison from 1947 to 1971, serving as Dean of Arts from 1954 to 1963: he was the founder and first Head of the Department of Religious Studies.

Under the terms of the Trust, one of its purposes is "the provision of a scholarship or scholarships for students in Religious Studies, with a preference for those taking an Area of Concentration in Religious Studies."

The scholarships are open to students who are taking courses in religious studies and who intend to take further courses in the Department. Preference will be given to students taking an honours program or a major or minor in religious studies. Past performance in religious studies courses will be considered.

Deadline: Scholarships have been awarded for 2023/24.
Email religion@mta.ca for an application form.

Below: The Ebbutt Reading Room is a cozy space for Religious Studies students and faculty.


The Nelson-Littlejohns Award in Philosophy, Ethics and Religion

Call for Student Proposals

Note: Deadline is Friday, March 22, 2024.

The Nelson-Littlejohns Award is intended for a student or students enrolled in second or third year of studies within the Departments of Philosophy or Religious Studies at Mount Allison University. The award will be used to support experiential learning and used to pay for activities such as travel costs to deliver a conference paper or take part in a workshop or other initiatives.

To apply, please submit a one-page proposal describing your project idea, including your name and year-of-standing (and the same for any co-applicants), and a short projected budget.

Applications may be submitted to Angela Thibodeau, Hart Hall 112.

The James Jarvis Stewart Scholarship

Awarded annually to a student maintaining academic standards and demonstrating financial need enrolled in religious Studies and contributing in a meaningful way to the school or community.

The S.B. Mitra Scholarship

Awarded to a student in their final year who has focused on the study of the Indian sub-continent either in past years or currently.  Some combinations of History, Religious Studies, Literature, Philosophy, and/or other areas of social science will also be considered.