Environmental Issues Committee | Mount Allison

Mount Allison is committed to environmental sustainability.

It continually seeks to improve efficiency while reducing its impact on the environment.

The University continues to find new and innovative ways to improve its environmental performance for the benefit of current as well as future generations of students.

Environmental Issues Committee

The Committee is comprised of Mount Allison staff, students, faculty and greater Sackville community members.

The University’s Environmental Policy outlines the mandate of the Environmental Issues Committee as follows:

  • to educate members of the University community on environmental issues and initiatives
  •  to foster co-operation and facilitate communication between the University and the broader community concerning environmental matters of mutual interest
  •  to foster co-operation and facilitate communication with other universities concerning environmental initiatives so that all institutions will benefit from environmental progress made at any one institution
  • to highlight to the community those courses and other educational opportunities that focus on environmental matters
  • at least once every three years to review and to either recommend to the President amendments to the Environmental Policy and its sub policies or recommend that they be confirmed
  • to review and to report to the President on the results of the annual audit completed under this policy
  • to report to the President on any other matter on which it considers it appropriate to report
Committee members
Chair Neil MacEachern nmacheachern@mta.ca
Administrative reps Michelle Strain mstrain@mta.ca
Ruth Terrio rterrio@mta.ca
Faculty reps Emily Austen eausten@mta.ca
Adriana Kuiper akuiper@mta.ca
Joshua Kurek jkurek@mta.ca
 
Student reps Andrew Linton alinton@mta.ca
Olivia Medsger obmedsger@mta.ca
Anna Hardie ahardie@mta.ca
Meghan Fox mcfox@mta.ca
Community rep Dwayne Acton d.acton@sackville.com
Environmental Policy

The University’s Environmental Policy outlines eight target areas where gains can be made:

emission reduction
transportation
water
waste

food
paper
grounds
buildings

Mount Allison has already made great strides in reducing its environmental footprint.

  • improvements to the heating and ventilation systems
  • implementing recycling and composting programs
  • endeavouring to use local foods in campus dining facilities
  • minimizing the use of paper products and choosing environmentally-aware products
  • adopting an integrated pest management approach to grounds maintenance
  • installing low-flow plumbing fixtures and rainwater collection systems
  • choosing energy efficient lighting and daylight and motion sensors
  • working to make new and existing buildings energy efficient