Mount Allison University announces 2021 honorary degree recipients

03 Jun 2021
Honourees include NB Chief Medical Officer Dr. Jennifer Russell and BC’s Dr. Bonnie Henry


SACKVILLE, NB — Two of Canada’s chief medical officers, as well as leaders in government, First Nations, and business have been named 2021 honorary degree recipients by Mount Allison University.

Honorary degree recipients include:

  • Dr. Bonnie Henry (’86) — Provincial Health Officer for British Columbia
  • Pierre Lassonde — Business leader and one of Canada’s most notable patrons of the arts
  • The Honourable Dominic A. LeBlanc — Long-time Member of Parliament for the riding of Beauséjour, President of the Queen’s Privy Council for Canada, and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs
  • Chief Terry Paul — Chief and CEO of Membertou First Nation, Membertou, Nova Scotia
  • Dr. Jennifer Russell — Chief Medical Officer of Health for New Brunswick
  • Annette Verschuren (’78) — Chair and CEO of NRStor Inc and former President of Home Depot Canada

“These six individuals are leaders in their respective fields, including medicine, business, government, and community development,” says Mount Allison University President and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Jean-Paul Boudreau. “Their commitment to the public good, through their leadership and actions over the course of the COVID-19 pandemic and throughout their careers, is exceptional. We are honoured to welcome them to the Mount Allison community as our newest honorary degree recipients.”

The six recipients will join the 2020 honorary degree recipients:

  • Michael de Adder (’91) — Award-winning editorial cartoonist and political cartoonist with The Washington Post and CounterPoint
  • Margaret Fancy — Librarian emerita and long-time chair of the J.E.A. Crake Foundation
  • Deborah A. Lyons — Special Representative, Head of the United Nations Assistance Mission in Afghanistan
  • Scott McCain (’78) — Business leader, volunteer, and philanthropist
  • Robert M. Ogilvie (’67) — Business leader and philanthropist
  • Beth Powning — Award-winning author and community leader

Both 2020 and 2021 recipients will be formally recognized at planned in-person Convocation ceremonies on campus in Spring 2022. Mount Allison held its virtual Conferring of Degrees ceremony celebrating the Class of 2021 on May 17. The program premiered on the University’s YouTube and Facebook channels.

Honorary degrees are awarded to those who are nationally or internationally recognized in their fields, those who have demonstrated service to Mount Allison or the wider community, or prominent public persons. The Honorary Degrees Committee, made up of representatives of University Senate, students, and the Board of Regents, receives nominations from members of the broader University community and from its own members.

For biographies on 2020 and 2021 honorary degree recipients, as well as a full list of past recipients:

Photo caption (L-R): 2021 Mount Allison honorary degree recipients (top row): Dr. Jennifer Russell; The Honourable Dominic A. LeBlanc; Pierre Lassonde. Bottom row (L-R): Annette Verschuren (’78); Dr. Bonnie Henry (’86); and Chief Terry Paul 

Next Steps

Be part of Canada's best undergraduate university