Mount Allison University Spring Convocation ceremonies set for May 13

02 May 2019

MtA2019ConvocationSACKVILLE, NB — Mount Allison University’s 2019 Convocation ceremonies will take place on Monday, May 13. Approximately 400 students are set to graduate this year. Science and Commerce students will receive their degrees in the morning ceremony, while Arts, Fine Arts, and Music students will graduate in the afternoon. Ceremonies will take place at 9:30 a.m. and 2:30 p.m. in the University’s Convocation Hall (37 York St.).

University Chancellor Lynn Loewen and President and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Jean-Paul Boudreau will preside over Convocation, marking Boudreau’s first Convocation ceremony at Mount Allison.

“I am honoured to preside over my first Convocation ceremony at Mount Allison,” says Boudreau. “The Class of 2019 has warmly welcomed me to campus this past year and I wish to congratulate them all on their achievements as they embark on their next endeavours.”

MtA2019Convocation_HDsMount Allison will also recognize six outstanding individuals with honorary degrees during the celebrations. This year’s recipients are:

  • David Booth, Mount Allison Class of 1984, retired Chief Executive Officer of BackOffice Associates, LLC, former Board of Regents member, founding member of the University’s National Advisory Council, and philanthropist
  • Andrea Colfer, traditional and well-respected Elder and Knowledge Keeper in the territory of Mi’kma’ki
  • Sharon Johnston, former Vice-Regal Consort, mental health and wellness advocate, and published author
  • Sheldon Levy, special advisor to the federal Minister of Small Business and Export Promotion, former CEO of NEXT Canada, and former President of Ryerson University
  • Marguerite Maillet, award-winning teacher and researcher in Acadian literature and author of several illustrated books for children
  • Drew Hayden Taylor, award-winning Ojibway playwright, author, columnist, filmmaker, and lecturer from Curve Lake First Nations

“These individuals have made many contributions in their respective fields, including business, mental health and wellness, post-secondary education, Acadian and Indigenous literature, arts, and education,” says Boudreau. “We are proud to honour and welcome this incredible group of leaders and change-makers to the Mount Allison community.”

Sheldon Levy will address Convocation during the morning ceremony while Sharon Johnston will speak at the afternoon event.

Hannah_Sholtz_Valedictorian_twoHannah Sholtz of Hamilton, ON has been chosen as this year’s valedictorian. Sholtz will graduate with a degree in French, and a minor in geographic information systems.

Following graduation, she has accepted a contract with Venture for Canada, a program which trains and connects recent graduates with startups looking for young workers.

Sholtz will complete a four-week training camp on the Queen’s University campus and then will begin looking for work with a startup in Ontario.

Religious Studies professor Dr. Fiona Black is the 2019 Paul Paré Medal of Excellence recipient.

FionaBlack_2019PaulPareMedal_twoThe Paré Medal is presented annually to a faculty member at Mount Allison who has exemplified outstanding teaching, research, scholarship, and/or creative activities, and who has an exemplary record of service. It is the University’s pre-eminent award for faculty. Black will be presented with the award during Convocation ceremonies.

This year’s ceremonies will also be live streamed.

Biographies for the 2019 honorary degree recipients and more information around Convocation weekend events are available at


Photo captions: 2019 Honorary degree recipients, left to right from top, Sheldon Levy, Marguerite Maillet; middle Andrea Colfer, David Booth; bottom Drew Hayden Taylor, Sharon Johnston

2019 Valedictorian Hannah Sholtz

2019 Paul Paré Medal of Excellence recipient Dr. Fiona Black (religious studies)

Next Steps

Be part of Canada's best undergraduate university