Mount Allison receives $125,000 to establish the Johnson Scholarship Foundation Pathways Program

16 Nov 2018

New program will help support student programming, training, and experiential learning opportunities through the University’s Meighen Centre

JohnsonPathwaysAnnouncementSACKVILLE, NB — Through its award-winning Meighen Centre, Mount Allison University is establishing the Johnson Scholarship Foundation (JSF) Pathways Program to better assist students with disabilities and prepare them for career paths following university. The new program will be funded by a lead donation of $125,000 over the next five years from the Johnson Scholarship Foundation, and matched by the University and additional philanthropic support.

“At JSF we are believers in the excellent work of The Meighen Centre, which is creating a model for career counselling and internships that will help its students transition successfully from the classroom into the workforce,” says Malcolm Macleod, President and CEO of the Johnson Scholarship Foundation. “The JSF Pathways Program is well-aligned with our mission to assist disadvantaged people in obtaining education and employment. We are pleased to make this investment in Mount Allison University and its students.”

For nearly 25 years, Mount Allison’s Meighen Centre has been serving students with disabilities. The Centre is nationally recognized for its work with students who have learning disabilities and recently expanded to include services for students with all types of disabilities. Centre staff assist hundreds of students each year.

“The JSF Pathways Program would focus on a long-term approach to mentoring and supporting students from the time they arrive at Mount Allison until they graduate and beyond,” says Anne Comfort, Mount Allison’s Director of Accessibility and Student Wellness. “There will be three main components to the program: pre-orientation programming, pre-graduation programming, and professional development and experiential learning opportunities, in the form of internships designated for Meighen Centre students.”

The JSF Pathways Program will allow The Meighen Centre to support current undergraduate students with disabilities, but also provide services, including internships and other experiential learning opportunities that will potentially increase the successful transition to employment.

Mount Allison staff began developing the new Pathways Program through in-depth interviews with former Meighen Centre students, which helped staff in learning how to better prepare students prior to graduation. As with some of its other services, The Meighen Centre will partner with external organizations as well as departments on campus including the University’s Experiential Learning and Career Development office to assist its students through the new program.

The Johnson Scholarship Foundation Pathways Program is expected to launch during the 2018-19 academic year.

About the Johnson Scholarship Foundation

The Johnson Scholarship Foundation was founded by Theodore R. and Vivian M. Johnson to serve disadvantaged people by assisting them to obtain education and employment. For more than 25 years, JSF has awarded close to $125 million in education-related grants. JSF gives to economically disadvantaged students, people with disabilities and Indigenous Peoples. For more information, please visit

About Mount Allison University

Mount Allison University has been ranked the top undergraduate university in Canada by Maclean’s magazine more times than any other university. With degrees in Arts, Science, Commerce, Fine Arts, and Music, the University provides a flexible liberal arts and sciences education that prepares students for any career path. Located in Sackville, New Brunswick, Mount Allison prides itself on providing a high-quality academic experience, combined with a variety of hands-on learning opportunities in a close-knit community. Students come from more than 50 countries around the world to make up a diverse, creative, and talented student body of approximately 2,300 students.

Photo caption (l-r): R. Malcolm Macleod, Q.C. President of the Johnson Scholarship Foundation; Kim Meade, Mount Allison Vice-President, International and Student Affairs; Anne Comfort, Mount Allison Director of Accessibility and Student Wellness; King Jordan Consultant for the Johnson Scholarship Foundation; Jeff Wright, Mount Allison Executive Director of Development; and Lady Hereford, APR Program Specialist, Johnson Scholarship Foundation.

Next Steps

Be part of Canada's best undergraduate university