Board Notes

Awards committee

Recognizing outstanding alumni

Ten years ago the Mount Allison Alumni Board Awards Committee established two new awards to complement the Charles Frederick Allison Award that was established in 1980. At that time, Board Director Bob Benn (’52) donated two watercolor paintings that were reproduced in giclée print and presented to the Lifetime Achievement winner and the Contemporary Achievement winner on the condition that we only give out the award for ten years.

Those ten years have gone by very fast and over 30 alumni have one of Bob’s prints in their home as recognition of their accomplishments. Unfortunately, Bob Benn passed away this past winter and was not able to see the new awards that have been selected for the award winners. The committee decided to keep the tradition of having a ten-year limit on prizes.

For the next ten years the alumni award winners will receive a framed Thaddeus Holownia photograph especially chosen by the artist to reflect the nature of each award. Holownia is an award-winning visual artist and Fine Arts department head and professor at Mount Allison. His work can be found in many important collections around the world. Each recipient will also receive a signed copy of A Vision in Wood & Stone — The Architecture of Mount Allison University by John Leroux and Thaddeus Holownia.

Each year the Awards Committee solicits nominations from the Mount Allison community. If you know a deserving nominee, please let us know by nominating them for an alumni award.

The Awards Committee would like to thank Sean Connors (’81), past president, for his work in selecting the awards. You can read all about this year’s award winners in this edition of the Record.

Christina Vroom (’96)
Chair of the Alumni Board Awards Committee