The Davidson Lecture is held annually and brings a distinguished Canadianist to campus to speak on a matter of importance to Canada.

Past Davidson Lecturers have included Mr. Edward Goldenberg, formerly chief of staff to Prime Minister Jean Chretien; Dr. Kevin Lynch, then-Chief Clerk of the Privy Council of Canada and Secretary to the Federal Cabinet; political scientist Janet Gross Stein; former UN Ambassador Stephen Lewis; noted journalist Graham Fraser; and political activist and academic Judy Rebick.

Lecturers since 2010 have included:

  • 2010-2011 — Dr. Thomas King
  • 2011-2012 — Dr. David Schindler
  • 2012-2013 — Dr. Stéphane Dion
  • 2013-2014 — Dr. Sally Armstrong
  • 2014-2015 — Jane Urquhart and Tony Urquhart
  • 2015-2016 — Dr. Pamela Palmater
  • 2016-2017 — Dr. Bruce Kidd
  • 2017-2018 — Dr. Niigaan Sinclair